The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Suggestions?!!? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/suggestions-66908/)

Hrsegirl 10-11-2010 10:14 AM

Suggestions?!!?

Ok so I started training my new 4 year old mare last week. And we put the saddle on her and she saddles like a pro. I don't even have to put a lead on her. On the first day, she bucked a few times, quit and went to eating grass. The second time, she didn't buck at all. I was really surprised. Anyways, I wanted to try to get her used to a bit but when I went to let try, she just raised her head and tried to back up. I let her smell it and figure out what it was, I tried molasses and she just turned her head. When I try to even touch anything to her mouth, she gets upset and backs up and throws her head. Any suggestions on how to get her to let me touch her mouth? Because she also needs to be wormed, but she doesn't like that either when I try.

Any suggestions and advice would be greatly appreciated.

mbender 10-11-2010 10:26 AM

Work with her face and mouth. As long as it takes to get her desensitized to the feel. I work with mine with my hand all over the mouth and then when they except that I start to stick my finger in the corner of the mouth. Do it with approach and retreat. Touch/rub and with the slightest exceptance remove your hand/finger.
Posted via Mobile Device

RandomHorsey 10-11-2010 10:28 AM

Horse Behavior and Training – Difficult to Bridle Cherry Hill's Horsekeeping

cheak this site out or maybe try using a hackamore

LoveTheSaddlebreds 10-11-2010 11:15 AM

You don't sound like you have too much experience training horses.. Maybe you should get a trainer to come help you, because it could be potentially dangerous training a horse.