The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   put weight on my TB, Beet pulp? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/put-weight-my-tb-beet-pulp-67072/)

megarcher25 10-12-2010 03:47 PM

put weight on my TB, Beet pulp?

I have had my TB gelding for about two months now, He was underweight when I got him, not extremely but enough to notice. he is steadily putting on weight and looks great to me but I am not an expert. some fellow boarders say he looks just fine, and is just a young lean horse, but my vet things he needs to gain another 200 pounds. We ride quite often, he is not out of shape or overly tired. I think he is very athletic. But I would like to try something to speed up the process before winter, have heard good things about beet pulp, but im not sure how to feed it to him and how much...I don't want to over feed and make him sick. He is now getting alfalfa hay twice a day and pasture 24 hours a day. How should I incorporate beet pulp into his routine? Thanks in advance

Digby 10-12-2010 03:51 PM

My barn has always used the dry beet pulp you've got to soak. We'll add about two scoops (feed scooper) to the feed in the AM and one scoop in the PM. When I purchased my horse he was like yours and needed another 200 lbs. I used rice bran pellets. That stuff is amazing. He got two pounds twice a day along with lots of alfalfa. He's gotten the weight back, but for maintenance, I still give him a scoop a day.

megarcher25 10-12-2010 03:53 PM

There is a picture you can see in another post, although he is tacked up so it may be hard to judge how he looks

megarcher25 10-12-2010 03:55 PM

rice bran pellets. ok. Sorry you are going to think I am idiot, but that's the part i don't get. lol. when and how do I "soak" the dried pulp, do i soak all of it or just the scoops at a time. and for how long? sorry for all the Q's!!!

Digby 10-12-2010 04:03 PM