The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeds (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/)
-   -   Tips on Donkeys anyone!? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeds/tips-donkeys-anyone-67144/)

horseplay88 10-13-2010 08:32 AM

Tips on Donkeys anyone!?

Hello :-) I am fairly new to riding as I only started again in June, although I did own a horse 7 years aho when at school, however, he was too much of a horse for me and so now lives happily with a policeman we know and even does some jousting!

My boyfriend has bought me two donkeys , and we get them next year which I cannot wait for :) We have land and everything sorted for them but I was just wondering if anyone had any tips on caring for donkeys? I have read barley straw is best to feed them but what would you say is the best bedding? Any advice would be great :D

Also, I have been promised a horse if I get a first in my degree at Uni in two years time, so I am currently working very very hard!

Thank you

Heather xxx

ChevyPrincess 10-13-2010 09:14 PM

Hi Heather =) Welcome to the forum!

I have been around donkeys and I have rode and helped train mammoth donkeys. They are very reason thinking animals, thus, they don't see the need to work unless there is a reason for it. It's very hard to get them to canter lol. Overall, they are very sweet loving creatures.

Their hooves are shaped differently than horses, they don't need shoes only an occasional trim, if that. As far as bedding, just any kind that you would use for a horse will do =) How big are they?

NorthernMama 10-13-2010 11:12 PM

Donkeys are very minimalistic animals -- that is to say, they need very little of anything and everything. Little food, little water, little grooming, little footwork.