The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   horse careers, possibly changing majors? help. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/horse-careers-possibly-changing-majors-help-67253/)

rraylutz210 10-14-2010 04:54 PM

horse careers, possibly changing majors? help.

So I am an architect major and loving it. However I also have an extreme passion for horses and plan to be a breeder as well as an architect. In the back of my head I cant help but think, am I going to be stretching myself to thin, 8-5pm days at work then breeder and family women at night.. hmmmmmm. So, I am curious if any of you have any horse related careers you would suggest that would provide the money to become a well established breeder as well as provide time for family. Right now I am just kind of curious, not completely serious about changing majors completely. I will more than likely still get at least a bA in Architecture.
Side note... I have worked for an equine vet for a few years and find equine medicine fascinating, however.. from what I have seen vets don't have a family life at all. And techs dont make enough money to support a family and a full swinging breeding business.

Suggestions please =)

equestrian 10-14-2010 06:04 PM

I used to work full time as a beginner hunt seat instructor and sales rider. I never had time for my own horses and it became a job instead of a passion. I love horses and will always have them, but I will never again have a career with them. JMO.

Saskia 10-14-2010 06:22 PM

I'm at uni and I am always toying with the idea that I want horses in my future. I'd love to train them, and be a full time trainer and maybe a breeder. I also want a family.