The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Training Balance at the Canter Undersaddle-We fell down (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/training-balance-canter-undersaddle-we-fell-67584/)

wingsinmoonlight 10-18-2010 09:55 PM

Training Balance at the Canter Undersaddle-We fell down

Hi,
I am new to training, and I am working with a trainer for my mare- but she isn't out until Wed, and I'd like suggestions to mull over until then.

Bonnie was supposedly given 60 days with a pro about 1.5 years ago, but she did not seem to know anything, so we started her from the ground up as if she had never been trained. She will be four in march, and is a rescue (starved).

I have never started a horse before, so I have been going very slowly. I had 5 years of lessons, but I've had about 3 years off horses before I got her, and am out of shape. I've been taking lessons on my trainers older horses to catch back up.

I did lots of ground work for the first month- got her used to the saddle, and my rope bitless bridle, lunging, leading etc. We spend another week just mounting and dismounting- not moving, them worked on go, whoa, steer at the walk for 2-3 weeks more. We have been working the trot for about 2 weeks now, and she is solid. She is super responsive to cues, and does not like me to be off balance- she shifts under me, or stops if I get off to the side at all. She is not spooky at all. I am VERY proud of her (and me) as we are learning together.