The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   trouble with neck reigning (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/trouble-neck-reigning-68617/)

new2horses 10-27-2010 01:31 PM

trouble with neck reigning

First of all, I'm a beginner (if you couldn't tell from my handle). So I realize that there's an aspect of control to this issue. But I'm hoping someone can give me a little advice above and beyond "you just have to show the horse whose boss" LOL. Basically, I have trouble steering horses that are trained to neck reign. They just don't listen to me. It's like I'm doing something to confuse them. It's happened with 3 horses now so I know it's definitely me :lol: I lie the reign against the neck and use my leg aid but I still can't keep a horse moving along a fence, for example. If I can get it against the fence in the first place, it will just end up veering towards the middle as soon as I let off. Should I be lying the reign on the neck until the horse turns as much as I want or should I be doing quick, little movements against the neck? I know I can just use 2 hands and tug the appropriate reign but I'm more interested in uderstandng why I can't neck reign! This issue has led to me being brushed in the face by low-hanging trees, walking through tumbleweeds and craters in the ground and also way too close to things LOL. Any insight would be great. (I just signed up for lessons so can't ask my instructor yet).

charlicata 10-27-2010 02:31 PM