The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Getting a horse!!! Maybe... (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/getting-horse-maybe-69471/)

horsequeen373 10-31-2010 08:42 PM

Getting a horse!!! Maybe...

So I've been riding for 10 years and my parents have finally realized the "horse thing" is not a phase and have agreed to consider getting me a horse. I would love to as much showing as I can afford.

There are 2 horses at my barn that are for sale that I have ridden and really love both of them...now the hard part, deciding which one to get...

There is Lucy. A 8 year old German Warmblood large pony. I finally nailed my flying lead change on her. She easily jumps up to 3 ft. (I do about 2'3" now) and she has some but not a lot of show miles. I LOVE riding her. She's not the prettiest mover ever and probably wouldn't win a ton of classes on her, but like I said I LOVE THIS PONY!!!!

Then there is Elmo. A 16 yar old HUGE TB. He can jump up to about 4 ft I do believe. Has tons and tons and TONS of show miles and is easily the best hunter mover at my barn. My trainer thinks we could totally dominate the hunter ring (her words). I love him, but not as much as Lucy.

Lucy costs significantly less then Elmo so thus I could afford to do more shows if I got her. If I got Elmo, I wouldn't be able to do as many shows.

So...opinions on which horse I should get?

tinyliny 10-31-2010 10:58 PM

How big are you? How old?
I have seen German riding ponies and they totally ROCK! That would be my vote, hands down! Big horses tend to have more problems with keeping weight on, their feet, you name it. The German riding pony would be good for dressage, no?
Can you post some photos.?

MoodIndigo 10-31-2010 11:14 PM

I would totally go with Lucy!!