The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Working Student Positions (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/working-student-positions-70313/)

Beau Baby 11-10-2010 11:32 PM

Working Student Positions

I'm currently only 16 and not even half way through grade 11 but when I graduate I wanna take a year off an get a working student position with a top 3-Day Event rider/trainer. My coach was short listed for the 2000 olympics so I was an amazing coach but I want to see what's out there even more. I want to grow beyond the Alberta 3-Day Events and see what the rest of the worlds events and riders are like. I have a year and a half to think about who I want to ride with but how do you find people?

Anybody know anywhere that I can find trainers looking for working students? And how do you go about finding the good ones that will let you ride and show and really learn?

Gidji 11-11-2010 12:17 AM

First of all, don't limit yourself to a 3 day event rider. A working student position is about learning and a year in dressage or the hack ring could really benefit you experience wise.

The best tips would be to find a good coach. Make you sure ask all the important questions like is the position live in? What will be expected of me on a daily basis? Will there be any opportunities to show/ride? What will I benefit from being a student here?

Beau Baby 11-11-2010 01:12 AM

Thnx Gidji. I've decided no to limit myself to a strictly 3-Day Event coach but I can not go to someone who only does dressage. I am hoping to make a career out of horses and I need to continue showing to get a good reputation. I don't think it'd be good to take a year off from my discipline.

kitten_Val 11-11-2010 03:26 PM