The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

horse+rider jumping critique :)

4K views 13 replies 12 participants last post by  cosmomomo 
#1 ·
so, just a little backround info. the horse and myself are both completely 100% self taught. i have never had a jumping lesson, and when i got the horse he was 18 months old and hadnt even had a halter on. now he is 6 and a half and i have done EVERYTHING with him. so how do you think we look? i am planning to start taking him to shows where we will actually jump, he's a pro at the flat classes by now lol.

the jump is a 2'3" oxer. he has gone to 2'6" but i wanted to keep it lower since i was introducing the concept of the oxer.

hopefully that works, i havent posted a picture on here before.

and be harsh if needed, and THANKS!

See less See more
#2 ·
You guys look GREAT! You and the horse. I am very impressed seeing as you are self taught! The only comment I could say and that would be nit picking is to turn your toe more forward instead of gripping with the back of your calf muscle. Your are in great balance with your horse! Kudos!!

#3 ·
looks good. may i offer one tip? tuck your toes in a little bit more to the horses sides. And as the jumps get bigger you will need a little more release in your hands. Make sense?
good work self teaching yourself :D you should be proud :D

#4 ·
when i read the "self taught" part i was like oh great but then i scrolled down and saw the picture. yall loook amazing, i never would have know you were never trained. your the perfect example of self taugh riding dont right. and your horse looks incredible too. nice distance and judgement. only thing i would say is the same as the other two, your toes should be pointed more forward. goooddd luck to yall though i bed hes do awesome jumping at a show!

#6 ·