The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   My horse has problems in canter. What do i do? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/my-horse-has-problems-canter-what-70666/)

xxxxxxdemiang 11-15-2010 11:04 AM

My horse has problems in canter. What do i do?

hi everyone,

I have a gelding and i am having some problems with his canter. He mainly disunities and as soon as you get of his back he looses his back legs. he is a very nice boy and he is only 8 years old. Oh yeah i am a show jumper, if that helps with anything. he normally disunites in corners and especially when i am riding him at faster speeds. If anyone has anymore questions please ask, because i have been riding him for more than 2 years and i would really like to find out how to get rid of his disuniting. Thank you.

MyBoyPuck 11-15-2010 08:22 PM

I just got back from a saddle fitting clinic. The number one reason for a disunited canter is a saddle that sits on the horse's back where there is no support. If you saddle sits behind the last rib, there's your answer. This is more common with western saddles since they are longer. Not sure which you have.

SaratogaTB 11-16-2010 06:32 AM

When you say "disunites" do you mean the same thing as to cross-fire, when their back lead is wrong and their front lead is correct? If that is what you mean, from what I have learned, it is a balancing issue. Agree to check on saddle fit, but absent that, its about balance.

xxxxxxdemiang 11-16-2010 10:58 AM

Thank you for helping me, i will try to see if the saddle is the problem and if not i will see whether it could be his balance. although recently we gave him an injection into his left hind leg and it seems to resolve part of the problem. He still disunites but not as much as before. So some people think something could be hurting him. Any suggestions.

Luvs2jump 11-16-2010 03:05 PM