The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Refuse to be discouraged by instructors (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/refuse-discouraged-instructors-70891/)

steedaunh32 11-17-2010 02:37 PM

Refuse to be discouraged by instructors

Ok, my first horse was a beautiful TB gelding who, as a beginner, I felt safe with. I starting taking basic english lessons with an instructor whom now I look back and realize is someone I would never work with, again. She somehow convinced me that my horse and I weren't "connecting" and that we wasn't the horse for me. Being new to the game and him being my first horse, I believed her and sold him, regretting it everyday. I convinced myself that I was no good at english riding and bought a western/trail horse that I've had for about 6 months now. This mare has really helped me get my confidence back in riding, and I really want to dedicate myself to learning to ride english, with a new instructor. So now I am looking for another good, safe horse I can start taking lessons on and riding english with (this mare is a trail horse pro, but that's about it), and hoping like crazy I can find a better instructor. Anyone have any recommendations as far as looking for someone to work with? I'm a confident beginner and I need someone who is willing to teach me and help me improve as a rider and not just yell at me the entire time and tell me I'm not assertive :-| I refuse to be soured by this!!

Spastic_Dove 11-17-2010 06:33 PM

Where are you located at?

First off, I'm sorry you had a bad experience with your past instructor. It's hard to find a good one and I'm glad you're going to continue on with lessons.

I wouldn't sell your horse to get an 'english horse' just yet. Theres no reason that a a trail horse pro can not do basic english flat work. Also, most places have school horses for you to ride and I would recommend that before buying another horse for the new discipline.