The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   New to English riding, tips/tricks/advice appreciated! (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/new-english-riding-tips-tricks-advice-71081/)

ashmaebarn 11-19-2010 09:42 PM

New to English riding, tips/tricks/advice appreciated!

Hey everyone, I am new to English riding and this forum actually, so yay for my two firsts! I started English lessons last week and have my next one tomorrow and have found it to be MUCH different and more challenging, but also, I think, more fun than Western riding which is what I have done since I was three. I haven't ridden in probably 5-6 years due to college and boys :lol: but I am back in the saddle thankfully! So I am having to relearn everything pretty much. I was hoping to get tips/tricks/advice like it says in my title about my seat, how to pull everything together (like keeping my heels down, hands in the right place, etc). Anything you might think I would need to pay attention to, need to know, or whatever; I am open to any and all helpful advice! Thanks in advance guys!

tinyliny 11-19-2010 10:02 PM

I don't ride huntseat but I do ride dressage and western. I learned western, then dressage and back to western.
I think the thing that most W to E riders find hard is to learn to make and keep contact with the horse's mouth. Since in E riding you will not usually have draping reins, you must learn how to make contact with the horse's mouth and more importantly, how to FOLLOW the mouth ; still feeling it, but not bumping it. If your contact is not draping like western but not tight enough to be able to follow the mouth, your horse will be bopped in the mouthe each time he strides as your reins snap from a bit too loose to taut. You must have enough actual contact with the horse that you will be able to feel the horse's head rythmically moving forward and backward. That way you have something that you can feel and follow.