The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Warmblood Mare - New at this! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/warmblood-mare-new-71248/)

TranquilAcresFarm 11-22-2010 09:18 AM

Warmblood Mare - New at this!

1 Attachment(s)
Hello All,
I have been riding for 30 years, Quarterhorses and rodeo events, however I am getting into warmbloods and gaited horses and trying dressage for the first time. I am nervous. This girl is just under 17hh and very sweet but intimidating...took her out to brush her and she is herd bound right now and I have to work on that. But I am unfamiliar with English saddle so between that and new horse..YIKES! ANY ADVICE????:lol:

GeminiJumper 11-22-2010 11:09 AM

She's a beautiful mare!! I would DEFINITELY recommend you get some lessons from a qualified dressage instructor. Even though you have been riding for 30 years western, taking lessons is not such a bad idea since there are a few differences and plus, you sound a little nervous so having someone who knows what they are doing will really help you out and send you in the right direction. :) Right now on your own, though, I would working getting to know her, watch her and learn her personality, what she likes to do, and how she reacts to things. I would also work on some ground work and manners just to get her to respect your personal space and look to you as the leader, not her. :) Good luck! Keep us updated :)

Cheshire 11-22-2010 11:35 AM

Gemini has given you great advice. An instructor will be extremely beneficial to you at this point! As you know, we never stop learning...especially when beginning a new discipline, lol.
Your mare looks like a sweetheart.

Ak1 11-22-2010 11:40 AM