The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   I'm not that good at horse riding yet (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/im-not-good-horse-riding-yet-715/)

Crazy Horse 02-14-2007 04:47 PM

I'm not that good at horse riding yet

Hiya. I have being taking horse riding lessions for two years now and I LOVE it to bits it gives me somthing to look forward to mondays! :lol: The thing is I dont have a poney to myself . Which makes me sad :cry: But I gess I will have to live with it for a while! I was just wondering do you guys have any helpfull tips for me! It could be tips on how to convince my dad to get a poney also! :lol: :lol: lol! Thanks for the help.

crackrider 02-15-2007 02:41 AM

Just keep dropping hints and nagging!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D That's how i got my first horse!!! Also show your dad all the time how much you love horses!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D

ChoicePretenes 02-15-2007 03:45 AM

Does your dad go to your lessons? If he does, show him by tacking him around, and being like " Well look what I could do if I had my OWN horse." Or " If I had my own horse I'd be better at what I love, and I'd be happy."

Just show him ^_^

Skippy! 02-15-2007 08:58 AM

Well, something i would be absolutely sure of before i started dropping hints, is to be aware at how much care a horse really needs. It is not all about riding you know ;)

Will you be keeping it at a boarding facility? Or at your house? Are you familiar with costs of vet and farrier care? Feed Prices? Tack prices? What happens if your horse is too much for you to handle.. do you know trainer prices?

There are a LOT of things to keep in mind about horses before purchasing... perhaps ask your dad about half leasing a horse from your lesson program? Thats a popular option for greenies to choose =) All the fun and none of the responsibility!

BeautifulBay 02-15-2007 05:12 PM

That's good advice skippy...