The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Hopping during Flying Lead Change (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/hopping-during-flying-lead-change-71597/)

LittleFish 11-26-2010 05:22 PM

Hopping during Flying Lead Change

So I have started my horse on flying lead changes. Things were going great but lately she has started hopping in her hindend and changing behind first then changing in front.

I think that I might need to go back to the basics a little and just work on swinging her shoulders and getting her really lifted back up. Any other advice on how to get her to stop doing this and keep her from doing it again in the future?

I'm really new to the whole flying lead change thing. No one else at my barn can do them, just my trainer, and only on a few of her horses. So I've mostly just been going off instinct and watching other people do them at our shows.

Here is a small video from just last week.
We start changing leads at the 5 min mark roughly. Sorry I don't have more examples. If you want to suffer through my pleasure practice, go right ahead, and if you have any tips on how to get her to extend her front leading leg when on the right lead, that would be nice too, but it's a side thought.

KateS 11-26-2010 05:57 PM

Ok so I am absolutely no expert on flying lead changes so if I'm wrong please forgive me.