The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/)
-   -   Help !! My gelding is mounting my mare (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/help-my-gelding-mounting-my-mare-73096/)

watt20 12-13-2010 05:14 PM

Help !! My gelding is mounting my mare

Hi, I am new to this so don't know if this will appear in the right place.
I have an 18 year old gelding who I have had for about 6 months and a 20 something year old mare who I have had for 3 years.
I initially kept them seperate because it was easier to get him out the field for riding. During the summer she kept coming into season and basically driving him crazy. However the other day he managed to get into her field, I kept a close eye on them and because they settled I left them together. However glanced out the window yesterday and saw she was standing quietly and he was mounting her.
Excuse my naivety in this matter but I thought when a horse was gelded he would have no interest in mares, and also theres no way my mare could be in season in this freezing cold weather (is there?) so why would she tolerate it. Basically I'm just wondering if its ok to keep them together for the time being or should I separate them again. Thanks for any advice.

NdAppy 12-13-2010 05:21 PM

I would separate them. If he continues to mount her, you take the chance of her getting an infection.

And yes, geldings can and do mount. All they can't do is produce sperm.

dressagebelle 12-13-2010 06:05 PM