The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   how do you slow a fast loper? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/how-do-you-slow-fast-loper-73336/)

westerncowgurl 12-16-2010 04:17 PM

how do you slow a fast loper?

some of you have probably seen my other post about my horse being unbalanced, he is doing way better i can finally really feel when he is on the wrong lead or not ! anyway i have another question, im hopeing on showing him next year and western pleasure is my fav class and i think timmy could do really well in this class but theres only one think he lopes fast! he has days when he will lope beautifully (rare days) and most days it feels like he's going to fast. I was wondering if any of you have tips on how to slow him down, my riding instructer is back now so i will start haveing lessons again soon but id like to hear what other people think.
sorry about all the training questions im new to this and i like hearing how other people train their horses.

Plains Drifter 12-16-2010 04:26 PM

Lope, lope and lope him some more. Believe it or not, the more you lope the more he will regulate his speed and start slowing down for you.

westerncowgurl 12-16-2010 04:29 PM

ok i will deffinatly do more lopeing next time i go out to ride, ive been sick so he's had a few days off

sonnygrl 12-16-2010 04:36 PM

dont be sorry we are all here for each other like one big family!!

2 things i did with my paint when i wanted a slower canter was as follows...