The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   New member--Need critiquing help with possible purchase! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/new-member-need-critiquing-help-possible-73636/)

lovestruck 12-20-2010 11:34 AM

New member--Need critiquing help with possible purchase!

Hi everyone! I'm new here and just wanted to give a short intro. I started riding several years ago, doing mostly English. I took a break for school and have recently come back to the world of riding. After leasing and taking lessons, I've decided I want to venture into owning a horse. I have the finances, the time and the mentor ship I feel that I need to properly take care of a horse, so I think it's time. While I'm looking into buying, I'm not in a big rush. I'm looking into getting a project horse for now; something that's not yet finished but has potential. I would mainly be doing hunter/jumper. I'd like to venture into dressage and eventing in the future as well.

I was hoping you guys could provide me with some honest critiques of some of the horses I've looked into. Here's the first one:

He's a registered Canadian Warmblood gelding. He's only 1.5 years old, around 15.3HH and halter trained. He's on the thin side right now and his feet aren't pretty, but I would obviously deal with that if I got him. Apart from that how does his conformation look? Like I said, I don't mind a project horse, but is he too young and too conformationally messed to even bother? He's being sold for $1300.

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y67...ette77/3-7.jpg

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y67...ette77/2-7.jpg

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y67...ette77/1-9.jpg

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y67...ette77/4-7.jpg

sarahver 12-20-2010 11:41 AM