The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Meet the Community (http://www.horseforum.com/meet-community/)
-   -   Hello from Delaware! (http://www.horseforum.com/meet-community/hello-delaware-74/)

dave_in_delaware 11-28-2006 01:19 PM

Hello from Delaware!

Greetings everyone! I'm glad I found this forum. And I apologize for the long "book" which will be my first post, but I have to tell you my story....

Personally, I have had zero experience with horses up until about 2 months ago. But thanks to my fiancee, that is quickly changing....

My fiancee is an experienced rider, and used to own a horse when she lived out on Oregon (w/ her Dad). She's been living in Delaware now for about 14 years, and misses her favorite animals. For a year now I've been slowly trying to find a way to get her back into horses, whether it was taking care of one at a boarding facility, paying for an hour trail ride for her, or just saying "hi" to some along the side of the road.

I had met and spoken with an owner of a farm who boards horses and gives lessons, and told her of my fiancee's story, and what I've been trying to do. She said that my fiancee could come over and help with the horses, and in exchange for her work, she'd be able to take a horse on a trail ride.... Which sounded good to me (and my fiancee).

A week later, I stopped by a different horse farm and met the owners of that. I had told them that my fiancee and I had stopped along the road one day to "talk" to a beautiful buckskin, but I wasn't sure who owned it. He told me that he owned that one as well. Long story short, I made arrangements with the owner to bring my fiancee by the next weekend to meet the buckskin, and we ended up meeting his foal, too!