The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Tips for a Green Rider? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/tips-green-rider-74155/)

JumpinJack 12-27-2010 02:53 PM

Tips for a Green Rider?

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this form and new to having a horse. I have ridden before but only only on guided trails. For Christmas, my Dad got me a 6 year old Quarter Horse to keep at his house. I live 3 hours away and with work and everything I can only make it over about once a month. My fiance and I are planning on moving to the area but it won't be for atleast another 6 months or so.

Anyway, my first questions is, can I still earn his respect without being there and working with him daily?

Also, he did buck my Fiance off. Sacred me to death, he just took off as soon as he got on him and started kicking like crazy. Of course, he began pulling back on reins, which was the worst thing he could have done. But now I'm a little nervous when I ride him and he knows it. Any tips on how to relax?

A little bit about his temperment.....He is spirited, When we first start to ride around the ring, you can tell he wants to run SO i have to be firm to keep him at a steady pace. I'm not confident enough to canter or gallop yet because he does kick a bit. Any advice on how to get him to stop kicking? He does fine at a walk or a trot.

I could ask a million more I'm sure LOL

ANY advice you all have to offer for a noobie would be greatly appreciated

Thank you!!

Spastic_Dove 12-27-2010 03:44 PM

The first thing to address is the kicking. Does he always do it? Have you ruled out pain caused by tack or through his back/teeth?

It's my opinion that you can earn a horses respect any time you ride them if you are firm and confident in your commands.
I do think it will be harder seeing him so infrequently, but I do think it is possible to get good rides out of him.

Is he being ridden at all other than the 1x a month you see him?