The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Automatic releases?? (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/automatic-releases-74301/)

hflmusicislife 12-29-2010 10:37 AM

Automatic releases??

1 Attachment(s)
I'd like to work on my release. I've been jumping for about 9 years, and while I'm not the best jumper, I believe I'm ready to start working towards the automatic release. I've tried googling it, but I have a difficult time understanding clearly without pictures. Can any of you show me pictures that demonstrate a correct either long release or automatic release?

I attatched a frame I pulled from a video at my last show- that's the last time I jumped. It's not super clear but hopefully it helps. I have others if you'd like them.

MyBoyPuck 12-29-2010 06:25 PM

I don't have a pic for you, but if there is a dead straight line from your elbow to your horse's mouth, that's an automatic release. In that pic above, all you'd have to do is open your elbow angle a bit and you'd be there.

CessBee 12-29-2010 06:28 PM

The automatic release is where you follow the horses mouth over the jump and maintain the straight line from elbow to bit.
http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t.../AP_005047.jpg
like so

hflmusicislife 12-29-2010 08:00 PM

Okay, thanks! I'll have to work on that tomorrow :)

MIEventer 12-29-2010 08:10 PM

I highly suggest you start reading the Practicle Horseman Magazine, where George Morris gives his critiques - where they are very informative and educational. He speaks quite often about riders who should be doing the Automatic Release, and also highly commends those riders who are doing it.

You'll see great examples and descriptions given in those critique columns.

hflmusicislife 12-29-2010 08:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MIEventer (Post 868484)