The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Complete Newbie (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/complete-newbie-74489/)

Shabutie1990 12-31-2010 02:30 PM

Complete Newbie

Ridings always been a childhood dream of mine and to start the new year off well ive decided to start taking lessons. What stuff do i need to be fully prepared? And do you have any advice about what to look for in riding schools? Im presuming Robinsons is the number 1 for boots etc, I dont want to go to the stables and get laughed at because i look like a complete tool! Any help is appreciated! x

Ray MacDonald 12-31-2010 02:46 PM

Ahahaha your not going to look like a tool! It doesn't really matter what you have on as long as its appropriet.

First you need to get riding gear: Helmet and boots. No particular brand.
I think you could try talking to anyone that rides at those stables or go see the owner and/or the Riding Instructor. Ask what kind of lessons they give and what you want to do.

Such as: Western, English, Jumping, Dressage, Eventing, Western Pleasure or an all around barn.

Also $$$ some are going to be more expensive. You don't have to get the more $$ one when you are just starting or if your budget allows it.

And MOST importantly!!!! Have fun!!

Shabutie1990 12-31-2010 02:50 PM

Ive rang around asking about lessons and stuff. . ive already got a riding hat. Got it for christmas :) I got gloves too, wasnt quite sure if id need them but i thought they would be advisable given the weather! Its boots that are troubling me, I want a good pair that will last me a good few years, an all round pair i can wear at the stable and riding too. Any suggestions?

sonnygrl 12-31-2010 03:14 PM