The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Colors and Genetics (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/)
-   -   Breeding. What would you get. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/breeding-what-would-you-get-75467/)

TexasBlaze 01-10-2011 09:36 PM

Breeding. What would you get.

If you bred to bays what possible colors could the foal be. Someone told me it would be possible to get a perlino. Is this possible?

Zeke 01-10-2011 09:40 PM

While I'm no color expert, I can say it really depends on what color (and the genetics behind it) you breed to a bay to get a color. Both parents contribute genes that decide the final color outcome.
Posted via Mobile Device

TexasBlaze 01-10-2011 09:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zeke (Post 884795)
While I'm no color expert, I can say it really depends on what color (and the genetics behind it) you breed to a bay to get a color. Both parents contribute genes that decide the final color outcome.
Posted via Mobile Device

But to have a perlino both parents would have to have at least one cream gene, making them buckskins instead of bays correct?

Gizmo 01-10-2011 09:55 PM

They would have to have a creme gene somewhere in there to have a perlino. I think your most likely outcome is going to be a bay with two bays because that gene is going to be dominant.

TexasBlaze 01-10-2011 09:57 PM

Thats what i thought. My friends was trying to tell me breeding 2 bays would give you a chance of getting a perlino but i told her that both parents would have to be buckskin to have a chance of a perlino foal if the base colors of the parents were bay. She also said that the creme gene could be recessive and not show up in the bay coat but i thought it the creme gene was present it would ALWAYS show in the coat color.

mysticdragon72 01-10-2011 11:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TexasBlaze (Post 884820)