The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Purina Strategy Healthy Edge. Anyone feed it? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/purina-strategy-healthy-edge-anyone-feed-75643/)

silverdollarmagic 01-12-2011 07:35 PM

Purina Strategy Healthy Edge. Anyone feed it?

I'm a newbie so forgive me if there is already a thread about this feed :oops: I just started my 10 year old TWH mare on it. She was getting 4# of an oats & cracked corn feed from the local mill with a few vits/minerals and a tiny bit of molasses. 6% fat & 12% protein. Also getting free choice good quality hay 24/7.
Hope does better on a higher fat, lower starch feed and I like that the HE has rice bran, beet pulp, flax and biotin in it, plus lots of other nutrients so I don't have to supplement it with anything, and the NSC is only 18%. She still gets free choice hay 24/7.

Who here feeds it and what are your opinions on it? TIA! :-)

equiniphile 01-12-2011 08:18 PM

My friend rides at a HJ barn and they feed it. Seem to like it, too.

mom2pride 01-12-2011 08:25 PM

I used it for a while this fall on my mare, when she was in full work, and I liked the results of it; she had alot of energy, and looked great; it wasn't "spicey" energy either...For the winter I put her back onto Alfalfa pellets for her 'extra' add in to her daily hay.

silverdollarmagic 01-12-2011 08:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by equiniphile (Post 887621)
My friend rides at a HJ barn and they feed it. Seem to like it, too.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mom2pride (Post 887630)
I used it for a while this fall on my mare, when she was in full work, and I liked the results of it; she had alot of energy, and looked great; it wasn't "spicey" energy either...For the winter I put her back onto Alfalfa pellets for her 'extra' add in to her daily hay.