The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Discouraged (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/discouraged-7574/)

MoonlightEm 04-04-2008 05:59 PM

Discouraged

Hi all - I just need some encouragement from all of you who happen to read this post. I've been riding for about 16 years but I'm 57 years old. I love horses and have since I was a kid!! But lately I'm getting discouraged about riding. My mare passed away last Nov. and I'm getting used to a new guy - a 10 year old Paint who is a sweety but can be fresh and did not come with as much training as I'd thought. I'm a pretty good rider but fell off last week and it did a number on me. A stupid fall on the trail - I should have been paying more attention. Now I am in pain in the neck region and lower back. Guess my question is - any old ladies who keep on truckin? I don't want to give up this sport as it's my passion but I don't want to hurt either. Sorry, all you kids who are young and resiliant. Should I invest in a different saddle? Take more lessons?
What to do? Em

appylover31803 04-04-2008 06:08 PM

i'm not old, but i did have a kind of nasty fall about a month ago. I wasn't expecting it at all and my back was hurting for a while. But i forgave the horse and have now been working on ground work with both of them.

I did ride after that, but i wore my vest too (along with my helmet) just incase. And honestly, having the vest on really gave me for confidence.

It wouldn't be bad to take a lesson or too. You might feel more comfortable because someone will be there with you, instead of you being my yourself.

And take your time! If you just need to groom your horse and take him for walks do that until you feel you're ready to go back into the saddle. :)

MoonlightEm 04-04-2008 06:20 PM

Thanks Appy