The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Do I need a trainer? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/do-i-need-trainer-76117/)

PaintLover17 01-18-2011 12:11 AM

Do I need a trainer?

So for the past few months I've been trying to train my mare. She was a brood mare most of her life and had a minimal amount of training before. She is perfect on the trails and at a walk (I can ride her bareback with just a halter and clip on reins) and pretty good at the trot with just a few corrections. My big problem is the canter. As soon as she starts to canter she tries to gallop. It's very difficult to slow her down. I have a lot of riding experience but minimal training. I've tried circles, half halts, frequent gait changes, and riding in a round pen but nothing seems to work. The owner of the barn I board at is a very good trainer and I have been thinking of going to her for help but I was hoping to be the one to train my mare and gain some experience. Does anyone have tips I can try, or is professional training my best option?
Posted via Mobile Device

LJohnson 01-18-2011 12:28 AM

My gelding use to rush his canter too - all the way into a four beat gallop. Mainly because he was unbalanced, so he'd rush to put each foot down until it was a full gallop. I don't know if your mare is doing the same thing or not. If so, health check first, then muscle/strength development, and more collected work at the walk and trot to make the canter easier. I'll be interested to see more suggestions on this. Best of luck.

PaintLover17 01-18-2011 12:31 AM

Hmm. I never thought about her being off balanced. How can I tell if she is? Do I need a vet to tell?
Posted via Mobile Device

corinowalk 01-18-2011 12:51 AM

It is quite possible that she just doesn't have the muscle to carry a rider *and* hold a canter. Lots of transitions can really help her build the muscle necessary to drive her from behind.