The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Neck reining (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/neck-reining-76219/)

barebackkindagal 01-19-2011 02:13 AM

Neck reining

My friend has a haflinger pony who is green. Her daughter will be starting riding lessons in the spring and she had asked me work with her horse before then. I'm not exactly sure how to go about moving on from being green. We have been in him about 6 times and he's real easy but just needs work. I've been riding for 6 years but my horse knew all that. I just need some advise on moving on! Open to any suggestions! Thanks!

candandy49 01-19-2011 10:11 AM

The best thing for a green horse is lots of riding and many sweaty saddle blankets. To begin with ride him in a true loose ring snaffle bit using both hands on the reins. Plow rein or direct rein him to start with. When moving on to neck reining it can be confusing to the horse. If you study the physics of neck reining you can see that the horse's nose is tipped in the opposite direction of the neck rein. That is one reason the importance of using leg cues comes into play. Best Wishes for a successful experience. :D

barebackkindagal 01-19-2011 12:03 PM

Thank ya!
Posted via Mobile Device

barebackkindagal 01-20-2011 10:55 PM

Worked with the little greenie today

I went and work with him today! He's not as green as we were told.he was a rescue of starvation and the lady did everything not to give him up! Including lying abouy hid training so we wouldn't be intersted in him! He did great on his commands and was great under saddle....even a little neck rein! :) he's tends to get very excited and rear as feed is being brought in...any suggestions on how to calm that?

candandy49 01-21-2011 11:53 AM