The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Experienced rider, but new to dressage, how do I find a trainer?

5K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  kitten_Val 
#1 · (Edited)
What do I look for? I am between a couple different barns in my area, both seem impressive to me (in terms of credentials and wins listed on websites and appearance of facilities etc), but that's not saying much since I am new to dressage. I would be taking lessons on school horses, I do not own my own.

So what are some things I look for in a "good" trainer? Warning signs?

Thanks in advance. :D

#2 ·
Go to each barn and watch the trainer teach. Can you make heads or tails out of what they are saying? Does the student seem to understand them? Are they doing as much watching/listening as they are talking, or are they talking so much that the student has no time to actually ride? Does the trainer get up on the horse to demonstrate a movement? Is the trainer using positive reinforcement or only pointing out errors?
Look for a trainer with excellent communication skills and who has a firm grounding in classical dressage, who spends the time needed to get the fundamentals down, instead of preparing you for competition no matter if you don't have the foundation or not. A trainer who cares as much for the school horse as they do for the money you will pay, so if the horse is off, then the lesson is off.
That's how I found my trainer, many years ago. As a person, I didn't care for her, but she was a good teacher.

#3 ·
There is no law against taking a trial lesson. Take a lesson with all of the trainers you think would be worth while and see what fit is the best for you.

Even going to watch lessons like tinyliny suggested is a good idea, as you can see how they interact with their students. Do they get upset, or do they try and explain something better?

#4 ·