The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Eventing (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/)
-   -   Moving up levels (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/moving-up-levels-77000/)

Crazypurple 01-27-2011 01:47 PM

Moving up levels

For the average eventer & horse, how long do you stay at a particular level? I am just starting out at BN1, how do I determine when to move a level? Do I focus more on my dressage score or how we do at stadium or xc? Or some combination of all three?

eventerdrew 01-27-2011 02:22 PM

It's really a balancing act between all three phases and it depends on the partnership.

For me, I have a standard of 3 events with a Double Clear in SJ and XC to move up... if we're ready.

equineeventer3390 01-27-2011 08:48 PM

I'd say one year at BN at least before novice. It's really up to you though. You will know when your ready and so will your trainer. When you are going clean in stadium and XC and schooling XC at the level above solidly and well, then it may be time to start thinking about it. I always start out moving up at a few combined training events (stadium and dressage) before doing a full event. My horse, right now, is solid BN cross country and schooling MOST of the novice elements just fine. We are doing BN recognized but are going to start doing combined training events at novice. When I feel he is sold BN XC at shows and solid novice at combined training, I will then consider doing my first novice horse trial.

MIEventer 01-27-2011 09:17 PM

I agree ^^ I would spend 1 solid year at a level before moving up.

Jim Wofford and David O'Connor wrote some great articles on how to decipher when you are ready to move up, I know I read them in the PH Magazine, I have to dig them up - but they both give great tips.

Don't rush yourselves - when you do that, accidents start to happen because you discover you are overfaced - so take your time. Enjoy yourselves and just have fun where you are comfortable.