The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Bolting after Jumps?? (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/bolting-after-jumps-77063/)

Caitlinpalomino 01-28-2011 07:58 AM

Bolting after Jumps??

I am just starting to learn to jump and i have a problem with my mare going into a really fast canter after a jump the other day i fell off because of it!! So what would usually happen is i will have to try really hard to control her over the jump (because she always trys really hard to avoid the jump) then afterward she will go off at a really fast canter that completley throws me off balance i try to pull her up as much as i can but i havn't been lately!! Does anyone have any ideas as to how i can stop this????

sorry if i didn't explain it very well!!

Chiilaa 01-28-2011 08:02 AM

It is surprisingly really common for them to do this. You have to teach her that jumping is not about fast, it's about taking her time and getting it right. The mare I ride tends to rush up to a jump, so I usually approach in a walk and trot the last two or three strides. This way, she learns to come in slow. I think this is a great exercise for any horse, especially those prone to rushing before or after.

In terms of the rush afterwards, my instructor always gets us to jump, and if the horse starts to rush, stop them and back up, then walk away from the jump. If needs be, use a one rein stop, but make sure you include the backing up. Make it hard work if she decides to rush off, and sooner or later she will go slower.

Caitlinpalomino 01-28-2011 08:17 AM

ok thankyou it is funny though because my mare usually is very steady towards a jump and then she just rushes off afterwards!!! In terms of backing up though i think that that is a great idea only problem my mare is really bad at backing up (she was a race horse which they didn't train her to back up and then i don't think she was very well re-educated after that) so i will have to work on it!!!