The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/)
-   -   Hunter Braids anyone?! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/hunter-braids-anyone-77233/)

justjump 01-29-2011 11:02 PM

Hunter Braids anyone?!
 
For the past 2 years, I have been practicing my hunter braids, and have been braiding all the show horses at my barn, and my own at every show. Tell me what you think? I'm charging anywhere from 25-30 per neck. I've only been braiding at local QH shows, and open shows. They go from recent to oldest!

http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/a...ges/braids.jpg
http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/a...es/braids5.jpg
http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/a...es/braids4.jpg
http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/a...es/braids3.jpg
http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/a..._3939126_n.jpg
http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/a..._2096186_n.jpg
http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/a..._6518656_n.jpg
http://i861.photobucket.com/albums/a...braids2005.jpg

Let me know what you think! Positive critiquing and comments are greatly appreciated!:-)

equiniphile 01-29-2011 11:06 PM

Those are great! I went out today and practiced a bit on Excel, but I forgot yarn so I used a piece of baling twine :lol:. Question, what do you do when there's a bunch of short fuzzy hair at the top of the mane? It doesn't seem to want to fit in the braid.

justjump 01-29-2011 11:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by equiniphile (Post 909469)
Those are great! I went out today and practiced a bit on Excel, but I forgot yarn so I used a piece of baling twine :lol:. Question, what do you do when there's a bunch of short fuzzy hair at the top of the mane? It doesn't seem to want to fit in the braid.

Like, when the horse is fuzzy? And their coat grows up kind of in the mane? I either hair spray it, or, if the owner gives me consent, I trim it. If it's long enough, I can braid it in!

And thank you very much!

equiniphile 01-30-2011 10:23 AM

Thanks for the tip, I'll try that. Also, do you use one of those hook-and-pull things to bring the yarn up through the top of the braid?

justjump 01-30-2011 10:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by equiniphile (Post 909802)
Thanks for the tip, I'll try that. Also, do you use one of those hook-and-pull things to bring the yarn up through the top of the braid?

Yup, it's called a latch hook! You can get it in the crafts isle at WAL mart(:
Posted via Mobile Device

Icyred 01-30-2011 01:48 PM

For the quality of those braids you could probably charge even more than you do now! Great job, I am quite jealous ;)

equiniphile 01-30-2011 02:19 PM

Would you be interested in doing a video of how you braid them? The ones on YouTube are pretty crappy, the horse is usually almost black with a black mane and black yarn and you usually can't see anything :lol:.

AlexS 01-30-2011 02:26 PM

You do a good job. I hate braiding more than almost anything else horse related I can think of, I would be fighting to pay you $30 to do that for my horse.

justjump 01-30-2011 02:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by equiniphile (Post 910075)
Would you be interested in doing a video of how you braid them? The ones on YouTube are pretty crappy, the horse is usually almost black with a black mane and black yarn and you usually can't see anything :lol:.

Haha yeah I think I might!!(:
Posted via Mobile Device

justjump 01-30-2011 02:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlexS (Post 910083)
You do a good job. I hate braiding more than almost anything else horse related I can think of, I would be fighting to pay you $30 to do that for my horse.

Haha thank you very much! I really appreciate it(: the first two pictures I have I charged 25
Posted via Mobile Device


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0