The Horse Forum banner

My Horse Photography - Opinions

1K views 12 replies 11 participants last post by  xXEventerXx 
#1 ·
I love photography, my whole life I have just been a self taught/hobbiest. For christmas I got my first really good camera (A Nikon D3000) I'm going to be taking some photography classes over the summer and everything. But I was at the barn today and just had fun snapping pictures. Would like your opinions on some of them! Do you think I have any talent? :D

See less See more
#3 ·
Do you really want critiques, or just gushing? Because I don't 'do' gushing unless it's merited.

To be honest, there's nothing about these photos that make me think 'professional photographer'. They're nothing I can't get on any given day with my cheapy Vivitar.

Several look to be slightly out of focus. Not a lot, but I can see it. You're also cropping off parts of the animals that are important, such as ears.

They're too busy. If you want a photo to be eye catching, you have get rid of the extraneous detail and focus in on your subjects.

There's no real depth to the pictures, and nothing about them is truly artistic. They just look like average, every day pictures of horses.

#7 ·
I agree with this one. The quality is really nice! I have a Sony DSLR. It takes pictures about the same quality. Not so great with action shots, unless I have my huge zoom lens and the flash. Try playing with colors, and light! I'm not a professional by any means, it's just a hobby for me too! I'll post some of mine!

#4 ·
Of all the things that can be photographed, the animal kingdom must surely be the hardest as you still have to adjust for lighting and perspective whilst the thing is probably moving around and changing form. Add to that my own theory that horse will only strike the perfect pose 0.5 seconds before the picture is captured OR 0.5 seconds after the picture is captured and you have a very difficult task!