The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   help with business idea needed (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/help-business-idea-needed-778/)

TudorRose 02-20-2007 06:41 PM

help with business idea needed

Hi there,

So I am embarking on a lifelong dream to have my own equine consulting company. This is something I've had my heart set on for over 15 years and is why I studied animal science at university and did a PhD in nutrition. You'll notice I've made some posts on the health forum for nutrition related things as I love helping people who have nutrition and any other kind of equine problem they needed solving.

I was wondering whether anyone would be willing to share their thoughts on whether they would ever use an equine consultant? Or maybe you've used one before? The sorts of things I'm thinking of offering include nutrition appraisal of your horse and tailering a diet to his needs, doing hay analysis and figuring out the results into a diet for your horse, video riding appraisal where someone would send me a video of their riding and I would offer feedback could be great for folks who don't have an instructor handy, any barn management type thing again people could show me their barns and how they run them via video and I could show ways of improving them. I have some other ideas but these are my main ones.

Anyway I'd love any input that anyone is willing to give.

kristy 02-20-2007 07:53 PM

You've touched on a very broad basis.

Have you been certified to become a professional instructor? And what training and accomplishments as a rider have you had to enable you to to be able to appraise different horses and riders?

What disciplines do you specialize in?

Do you have Barn Management experience and if so, doing what and how long?