The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Scared of Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/scared-horses-78651/)

mg18 02-15-2011 05:46 PM

Scared of Horses

I am new to all things horses but for 3 months I have been volunteering at a horse rescue. Since beginning I have been in a few situations that I felt nervous like on my first day while doing hay a horse began to buck only a few feet away from me. Well for the most part I got over that until the last two visits to the farm when I got hit by a horse with its head, reared at, and bit. After spending some time on the forum I thought I would go back and just have a I'm not going to take any BS attitude. For the most part everything was fine until I was trying to get a pony to eat his grain which had meds in it. Well he had a new pasture mate that was very pushy, but I didnt know that until after the fact. The pasture mate was not responding to me at all and kept on pushing me until she let out a very "Im P.O.ed whinny" and I got scared and ran away. When I got out of the pasture she made the same noise and then kicked the pony I was trying to feed. That whole incident has made me very scared and I dont think I want to go back. Im not sure I want anything to do with horses.

So I was wondering is this normal behavior? Am I overreacting? Are these behaviors occurring because its a rescue farm?

To be honest this is making me rethink everything about horses. So please let me know what you think.

tinyliny 02-15-2011 06:32 PM