The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   traveling long distance (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/traveling-long-distance-79067/)

Horsequeen08 02-21-2011 02:37 PM

traveling long distance

I'm a graduating college student, and while this question isn't pertint right this second, I like to plan ahead. I may end up moving across the country within a year or so, and of course, I want to take my horse with me. Assuming I'm driving all that way, how does one go about transporting a horse for several days? Where could I keep my horse during the night when I get a hotel to sleep before hitting the road again? Would I have to contact several barns along the way to see if I can pay a fee to have my horse stay overnight just for a night, like some people do at shows? Can horses handle the stress? Thanks!

Left Hand Percherons 02-21-2011 09:43 PM

It's good to plan ahead.