The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Grooming (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/)
-   -   Homemade Tail Extentions? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-grooming/homemade-tail-extentions-79158/)

ropergirl 02-22-2011 04:12 PM

Homemade Tail Extentions?

I am showing an appaloosa this year,and its REALLY hard to find a tail extention that matches,so is there a way to make a homemade one?
Thanks,
Kylee.

lacyloo 02-22-2011 04:19 PM

What color is your hair and how much are you willing to cut? -joking-

Good luck, I have no experience with horse tail extensions but I did goggle it and several sites came up that sell them.

trailsntails 02-22-2011 06:32 PM

Sounds dangerous.... :P jk... Well if you have a couple extra horses that you're not doing anything with, you could cut off their tails (if they match) and make one..... :P JK don't do that. :lol:

Citrus 02-22-2011 07:26 PM

I wonder if you could look up wig making and then make it horse tail shaped..... and to make it you could use other wigs......

dragy 02-23-2011 11:25 AM

If you contact a "tail-maker" you can ask about custom tail colors, such as http://www.customtails.com - hard-to-match tails are their specialty! :D Not cheap, but it's probably going to look nicer and more authentic/real than something you'd be able to make yourself. Probably the best route to go if you're going to be showing rated or breed shows.

I guess if you really wanted to try making your own, you could google search horse hair and see if you can find a site and buy 1-2lb (depending how much tail you need I guess) of horse hair that matches your horses tail colors, then see if you can make your own tail out of it. I guess most tails are just sort of bound together at the top and then have a loop or loops for braiding them in.

Gwill 02-25-2011 08:29 AM

it's the 1st time i hear about tail extension LOL , but i guess if you google it u would find out how .

lacyloo 02-27-2011 06:19 PM

Colorful Manes and Tails - Home