The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Venting about a riding lesson (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/venting-about-riding-lesson-79187/)

Puddintat 02-22-2011 08:37 PM

Venting about a riding lesson

So I've been riding off an on for a few years but still consider myself a beginner because I don't canter, not on purpose anyway. I started taking lessons again in September. I took them every other week until December. I know I'm ready to canter but still scared. I had a few quirks I needed to get fixed with my horse so I had another trainer work with him. I decided since she did such a good job working with him the first time I'd have her out again. For the second training sesson she worked with him and then gave me a lesson.

Everything was fine until I got on him. (Keep in mind that I've taken english lessons years ago but now I'm using a western saddle and my goal is fun) As soon as I got on the saddle she was implying that I was scared, which I was definitely not. She then proceeded to tell me that the way I was sitting, which is how I was taught to sit, was completely wrong. She then threatened to hit me with a whip because everything she told me went in one ear and out the other. She then told me she felt like she was teaching a child and not an adult. I was so angry and I told her I wasn't trying to look pretty just be safe and she said she was teaching me to be correct. I've never had such a bad lesson and will never use her again. I'll spend the extra money and stick with the instructor that respects me and isn't stuck up.

She was having me do dressage in a western saddle and it was very difficult to keep my position, practically painful. I felt so out of place and felt like I was going to tumble off any minute.

Thanks for reading the ramble!!:grin:

gypsygirl 02-22-2011 08:40 PM

wow that sounds horrible !! i would def stick with the instructor you like !

Salila 02-22-2011 08:49 PM