The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Posture Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/posture-critique-79809/)

shermyj1199 03-01-2011 04:35 PM

Posture Critique

2 Attachment(s)
I would love to know what others think about my posture. The lady where i board says theres nothing more she can teach me so mabey some people on here can help. I know my toes point out offten my horse needs alot of encouragement to move lol (bad excuse i know)

Just tell me what you think. I have been showing for 7 Years western and huntseat pleasure. and some Horsemanship.

ErikaLynn 03-01-2011 04:44 PM

In the English photo, I think your legs are too far back. Instead of bringing your leg back to make your horse move forward just lift your heal squeeze his belly with your heal.

I think you should carry your hands more, lift them up and try not to bury them into the front of the saddle. Also you should keep your shoulders back and head up.

Last I think your saddle is too small for you. It might be the angle of the picture, I'm not sure.

Great job otherwise.

x Branded Heart x 03-01-2011 06:33 PM

Your posture in the western photo looks fine, but in the english it could use some work.

To start, I would like to see your hands further up on the reins so they are more out in front of you. Right now, your hand is almost touching the knee-roll on the saddle, when it should be up a few inches on the reins.

Also, I can see that your too-small saddle is causing your seat and leg to go a little wonky. Your foot has twisted awkwardly and is in a weird spot, and it is too small of a saddle for your leg length.

I can't complain too much about your upper body though, although I think you would look much better overall with these quick fixes ^^ :)