The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   General Off Topic Discussion (http://www.horseforum.com/general-off-topic-discussion/)
-   -   Accepting myself.. (http://www.horseforum.com/general-off-topic-discussion/accepting-myself-79920/)

paintsrule 03-02-2011 04:19 PM

Accepting myself..

I cant accept myself.

Everytime I look in the mirror I think "Gosh, you're ugly," and its really taking its toll on me. I dont know what to do, but its got me way down..

Im 16, 5 foot 6 and weigh around 115 pounds, so not stick thin but not fat (I dont think).

The main problem is well, obviously, myself. I hate how I look, dress, dont wear makeup, everything. I dont like who I am looks wise and am always jealous of people who seem to have it together. I guess I dont know how to change, or even if I want to change very drastically. I just want to be happy with myself. :/

Any advice? Please?
Oh and I'm a sophomore, if that matters.

P.s. the reason I didnt post this in the teen talk section is because I would LOVE some adult perspective as well.

Poseidon 03-02-2011 04:26 PM

I'm sorry to say I don't have much advice, but I can guarantee your size is NOWHERE near fat. I'm almost 19, 5'7" and currently weigh about 113lbs. I finally gained back weight from when I was sick in July and dropped to 105. If anything, you're tiny. :P

But you're also 16. Learning to accept yourself and grow into yourself is part of growing up.

texasgal 03-02-2011 04:28 PM

I want to start out by saying that you can stop being jealous of people who seem to have it all together .... 'cause they DON'T!!

I usually don't visit these questions, because when I was your age, I felt the exact same way. I think alot, if not MOST teens do at some point, while they are trying to "find themselves".

It sounds corny to say that you are special and nobody else in the whole world is like you ... but it's true.