The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barrel Racing (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/)
-   -   bit trouble...need advice bad!!! (http://www.horseforum.com/barrel-racing/bit-trouble-need-advice-bad-80769/)

GeorgieNChex 03-12-2011 12:59 PM

bit trouble...need advice bad!!!

Hello there!
I am new to barrel's, but not riding. I was always taught to go to the basics when you have a stubborn horse that doesn't listen...but i have a ex roping Florida Cracker horse and he is hot. I have gone to the basics many times, riding in snaffles of all types and the horse just will not slow down.
It is his job to GO GO GO and i get that, but recently i took him to an arena and he wouldn't listen to me AT ALL. I am using a Tomb Thumb and it sometimes works.
I have a whoa and all that, but otherwise he's dead to me up there.
I've been told about the Dogbone Combination bit and the Lady Bug Hack and the Beetle Hack...honestly i need a little 'bite' to my bit but i do not know anything about these bits AT ALL.
I would really appreciate advice to these bits and suggestions...
Thank you,
Lena. :D

lilruffian 03-12-2011 01:37 PM

Have you tried him in a ported bit such as a curb with shanks? You can also get snaffles with ports. Some horses respond better to these full-bar type mouthpieces than broken ones. A good leverage bit with a port with also add more pressure on his tongue to encourage him to tuck his head in.

GeorgieNChex 03-12-2011 01:48 PM

actually yes i have. He actually has a natural high head but tucks his head to get away from the bit bc he just wants to GO. I will try one without a break, thank you! and i have tried the wounder bit on him too but no luck...
Thank you for your advice! i will try what u suggested! thank you,
Lena

BuckOff41570 03-13-2011 08:53 AM

Ok, well here's just my 2 cents.