The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Just Starting (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/just-starting-80929/)

HopalongCassidy 03-14-2011 09:30 AM

Just Starting

OK. I'd never thought i'd be posting here or even looking at anything English. But.... I put up two center blocks and put a pole in the holes and started taking my horse over then. (I wasn't riding just on foot.) Anyway my step dads like "OK, now put the pole on top of the center blocks. The center blocks i think a foot high and he clear it likes been trained to do it. (But he hasn't) So i'm thinking he's natural and am thinking about jumping him more. I don't have an English saddle and plan (For right know) to use my western saddle. This summer i'll see if i can scrap together enough to get one. But i'm barrel racing and hope to win. Anyway I'm very new to jumping and English. I've only rode western or bareback. I don't plan to get a trainer if i do start jumping. I taught my self to ride horses, to ride bareback, to barrel race so i think i'll just stick with teaching my self. I will though see if i can get pictures to put up here so i can get some advise. Anyway if you do have advise for me now let me know.

rosie1 03-14-2011 02:56 PM