The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Posting the Trot (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/posting-trot-81121/)

GenuineWicked 03-16-2011 12:07 AM

Posting the Trot

Hello everyone! I have been riding Western since I was 6 years old, and now I am making the switch to English. It has been more difficult than I first imagined it would be! XDD (You English riders must have amazing upper and lower body strength! I've never been so sore after riding before!) Right now I am working on posting the trot. My problem is that I post off of my toes instead of using my legs. When I do this, my toe points down, the stirrup slips back, gets caught on my heel, and suddenly I am in the wrong position. I have only been to 5 lessons so far, but I am getting a little bit frustrated. Any ideas would help!

(I will get a video up as soon as possible!) Thank You!! :D

tinyliny 03-16-2011 12:29 AM

I think the standard way of working through this is to post without stirrups. Also, work at abeing able to sit the trot, too.

I think the hunt seat riders will help you more, but just wanted to say that it very commonly takes more than 5 sessions to learn how to post easily.

One thing to help visualize the heels down is think "toes up". AND
think of your heel as aiming toward your horse's hind feet.

Be patient with yourself. One day, in a year or less, you will be able to post endlessly and effortlessly. I believe it does take more muscle to ride English. When I learned Western, I always thought English riders were sissys. Then I took english riding lessons and I learned the truth! It takes muscles to ride English! You will love it in a few more sessions.

GenuineWicked 03-16-2011 12:33 AM

Ooh, posting without stirrups would be a sure way to help me out! I definitely need to work on those leg muscles for that! :)