The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Pain around withers? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/pain-around-withers-81218/)

GreenTreeFrog 03-16-2011 10:06 PM

Pain around withers?

My niece who is an experienced horse person was at my place on the weekend and we were doing some ground work with with my horse, a 14yo TB mare.

She saddled her up for a bit of lunging. When she put pressure on the stirrup (testing her reaction to pressure) or pushed down at the front of the saddle, my horse would turn her head to bite and tried to cow kick her several times.

Today, I used just my fingers and pressed the area either side of her spine at her withers, with just a little pressure, and she did the same to me. Chomp chomp!

Does this indicate an issue that I might need a chiro or physio for?

I am new to horses, only had her a couple of months. I haven't ridden her yet. She was ridden occasionally where she used to be.

Any advice greatly appreciated. Thanks!

starlinestables 03-16-2011 10:30 PM

Most definitely! Call the chiro/vet!

smrobs 03-16-2011 10:34 PM

I second that. Call the chiro/vet, whichever one you can get in to see sooner. It is entirely possible that this was caused by an ill-fitting saddle. Does your saddle sit low on her withers?

Fluffy Pony 03-16-2011 10:45 PM

Are there any white spots around the withers or along the back? Sometimes that indicates repetative sore spots from an ill fitting saddle or injury.
Posted via Mobile Device

CJ82Sky 03-16-2011 11:02 PM

i agree re: calling the chiro and/or vet. also absolutely check saddle fit. it sounds like the saddle is pinching and/or hitting in the withers, causing when there is weight in the saddle at ALL for her to become sore. if it made her sore enough, she'd be sensitive even when there was no rider on her back.