The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barn Maintenance (http://www.horseforum.com/barn-maintenance/)
-   -   Grills or no grills between stalls? (http://www.horseforum.com/barn-maintenance/grills-no-grills-between-stalls-82678/)

RebornInABarn 04-01-2011 11:40 AM

Grills or no grills between stalls?

New here and need some more good opinions!

I have been riding for the past 20 years, but have never kept horses on my own property. I am finally building my long-awaited dream barn and am now trying to decide on some last details.

I have room for 7 12x12 stalls (all side-by-side) that I would like to eventually finish all the same or very similarly. For now, I have funds to complete 2 stalls. We've decided on using stall kits (we assemble) with the metal grills on the top portion of the walls and sliding door. The grills will deffinitely be used all the way across the front and back walls, but i would like to hear opinions on whether to use them between the stalls or to leave a solid wall of 2x8's. Also, would you recomend swing out feeders on top or just feeding from the ground?

Other info about our barn: It is very open- stalls are located between the aisleway and the open storage/ riding area, so airflow is very good. In the near future we will be keeping 1-3 family horses. Farther out, we may get into some boarding. We have plenty of pasture and all horses will primarily be turned out. I will have to utilize an unexperienced "horse-sitter", but not often.

Thanks ahead for the feedback!http://forum.horsetopia.com/images/s.../icon_wink.gif

Alwaysbehind 04-01-2011 11:46 AM

Grills between stalls are great if you know all your horses get along fine.

Otherwise they are problem.

I think their stalls should be some place they can be safe and comfortable. If the horse in the next stall is always biting at them or making faces that kind of removes that safe and comfortable feeling.

I prefer to feed from the ground.