The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Milk Production in Non-Preg Mare (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/milk-production-non-preg-mare-82838/)

Azera 04-03-2011 07:42 AM

Milk Production in Non-Preg Mare

This is a first for me.

I got this mare about last week of February, waited till around march to take her to vet since I wanted to get all horses coggins and yearly shots done without making two trips and since in March-April my vet does a discount rate on coggins/shots so was cheaper. Not really cheaper after all I had to get done with them but anyway.

When I got this mare, the person said she had mastistis and to "milk her". 1. Im not going to milk her cause I have no experience. 2. I am not about to be kicked in an attempt to "milk" her.

Mare was seen by vet March 12. I got her coggins/shots and had her flushed (she has bad confo behind). Had the vet check her "bag", he said it is NOT mastistis as I was told but just producing milk. He didnt seem overly concerned about it but I am still worried about it. She has had 2 foals before and last one being over a year ago. She is not in foal now, vet checked her when he flushed her.

It did attempt to dry up but didnt last long, she is producing more and it is only in one teat.

Can she have a harmonal imbalance making her produce the milk, why only one teat? If it hasnt dried up in a few months (vet said to wait a while and see) I want to go have her harmones tested.

Would Mare Magic help her, you think?

Anyone with any experience in this please let me know what you did!

MHFoundation Quarters 04-03-2011 09:00 AM