The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Time table for showing? (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/time-table-showing-82851/)

Secondtimearound 04-03-2011 01:23 PM

Time table for showing?

Out of curiousity, I was wondering how long it takes a typical rider to go from initial training in English to being well trained enough to show in hunter? I understand this varies by rider, trainer and horse and even level of show. It just seems like some of the riders I have met or watched have been at it for several years and still only competing in AA shows with 3ft jumps. I am just beginning the jumping process and told I'm progessing quickly. But what is the norm?

eventerdrew 04-03-2011 01:24 PM

It totally depends on the horse, rider and the combination of them both. You can't really put a time table one anyone for that sort of thing.

Secondtimearound 04-03-2011 03:04 PM

I understand

Perhaps it is better to ask how long did it take you all to go from start to A shows?

Thanks for the insight.

AlexS 04-03-2011 11:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Secondtimearound (Post 984962)
Perhaps it is better to ask how long did it take you all to go from start to A shows?

Thanks for the insight.

That's a tough one to answer as well. 10 years ago I was doing A rated shows, since then I have had younger less able horses. I don't see myself doing another A rated for a good few years yet.

Too many variables to say - but if you are determined, work hard, have a willing horse, you can get yourself there in not too long. Good luck!

Quixotic 04-03-2011 11:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Secondtimearound (Post 984894)
some of the riders I have met or watched have been at it for several years and still only competing in AA shows with 3ft jumps.

Is this a bad thing? If they're already competing at 3ft after just a few years of riding, I'd say they were either extremely good riders, or were progressed too far too soon.