The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Thinking about riding english? (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/thinking-about-riding-english-83047/)

RylieHorses 04-05-2011 02:36 PM

Thinking about riding english?

I've been giving it a lot of thought lately, which is why i bought a 2nd horse that can do both (western and english). Anyways, can anybody give me any tips? My arabian is an experienced riding horse, but she's never been shown or competed on (just pleasure). Would i be able to excell on her, basically what i want to know is would i be able to learn on her, even though she's not a show horse (she knows w/t/c but no bells and whistles lol)? I've been riding for a long time, and i have rode english before, but it wasn't my horse. So i'm not very familiar with the tack (of course i know the basics though ;) lol). How would you think i should start out? I'm a trainer, so yes i feel weird about the thought of getting lessons. But i won't completely rule it out. But like i've said i have rode english before, i haven't bought a saddle or anything. Also i was told that english saddles are smaller in seat size compared to western saddles, is that true? I just think it would be really fun to learn something new, and expand my experience in riding :). That and english riding just looks beautiful :D

kitten_Val 04-05-2011 09:07 PM

Rylei, there is NOTHING wrong for the trainer to take lessons in discipline he/she is not familiar with. Many people do it. :wink: I personally know eventing trainers taking lessons in high level dressage. The fact you are trainer/good rider will help you a lot (because you don't have to worry about balance, position, and alike), but an experienced look from the ground helps tremendously and speeds up the process a lot.

Silvera 04-05-2011 10:10 PM