The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   fencing question (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/fencing-question-8308/)

KANSAS_TWISTER 04-27-2008 05:01 AM

fencing question
 
ok ....been waitting for the hubby to fix an area for the horses to be turned out to graze in a better place for the past 2 years!!!....

http://www.horseforum.com/userpix/577_032_1.jpg

this is going to be a area that i am going to be fencing in so they can go from that pen in to a small pasture, just by opening 2 gates, which in turn will give me the pen, a small turn out area and a pasture,....(pic 1)

my intention is running hot wire through out the entire fence line off one charger, my problem is to the right of this gate will be where the hot wire will stop for that part and will need to be jumped over from the building over to that post ( i know i have to straighten it up), then has to run the length of the pasture and up top around the dog pen with out loosing any current, the gate is my only problem , i need it..........but i also need that wire on the other side!!
http://www.horseforum.com/userpix/577_030_1.jpg

is there any idea of what to do?

Vidaloco 04-27-2008 05:22 AM

There are several options you could use. 1) Use an insulated wire for electric fence and bury it across the front of the building. They sell it fairly cheap and you will need it anyway to run the electric from the charger to the fence. You can also just attach it above the building if you don't want to bury it, but I think you use less burying it. Ask at the place you buy the elect. fence, they should be able to point you in the right direction.
2) Put in a tall post on each side of the structure, gate. Tall enough to walk under just continue the wire going over on the tall posts.
For gateways I just buy the elect fence "handles" and just make a loop of the wire on one side and use the handle on the other. just unhooking it when I need to go through.

KANSAS_TWISTER 04-27-2008 05:31 AM

that's what i'm going to do on the outer fence (near the dirt road) i need a wayt to get hay in and out of that shed in the back round so i need a 16 ft gap like the gate behind it, i for got to mention that it's going to be wood post, 7 ft , 2 t post, wood post to make this fence strong!!!....thinking more wind wise then horse wise

Vidaloco 04-27-2008 05:43 AM

heres a good website. The gate installation in particular http://www.afence.com/Electric_Fence...lecinstall.htm
Since you are going to be using wood and steel are you planing on using wire or tape? I tried the tape with the plastic fence posts. Will not stand up to a Kansas wind :shock:

KANSAS_TWISTER 04-27-2008 05:53 AM

wire!!! 2 hot 3 barb , we or should i say i'm recycling from what i already have.......i'm hopping to start some time today if i can find my fence stretcher and post hole diggers

Vidaloco 04-27-2008 06:00 AM

Be careful, those fence stretchers can get ya :lol:


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0