The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Cutting and Team Penning (http://www.horseforum.com/cutting-team-penning/)
-   -   To ride my horse or not... (http://www.horseforum.com/cutting-team-penning/ride-my-horse-not-83251/)

NicoleS11 04-07-2011 05:33 PM

To ride my horse or not...

I recently moved my horse to a friends place that I pen with.

Im just learning how to pen and my horse isn’t exactly the best for me to learn on but we get by.

The guy that I keep my horse at his place agreed to haul my horse for me to shows/practices. Hes very competitive and doenst like to loose so ive noticed that lately he keeps offering me his horses to ride instead of me riding my own. On Tuesday we went to a practice and he text me half way threw the day and said I could ride one of his horses because there wasn’t room in the trailer for mine. That’s fine…but they hauled a girl who has her own trailer…she could have hauled herself…why was my horse left out?

Then tonight we are planning on going to a practice and he just text me and asked me if I would mind riding one of his horses because the cows are used and are more likely to challenge your horse. My horse isn’t 100% confident and it will just wreck him if he gets beat by a cow so I understand why he offered me one of his horses…but at the same sense how am I supposed to get any better if im not riding my own horse?!?!

Then another friend of mine that I pen with called me and asked what I was doing tonight. I told her we were going to the practice but the cows were used and right away she said "ride one of Bennys horses, dont wreck yours!"