The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Good Informative Jumping Book? (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/good-informative-jumping-book-84401/)

JerBear 04-19-2011 10:37 PM

Good Informative Jumping Book?

I got a job recently at a big hunter jumper barn and the head trainer is going to be giving me free lessons! Im super excited to learn how to jump. Ive always wanted to try it. I was wanting to know if anyone recommended any books to read? Maybe one with some tips and exercises to do? I thought about the book called 101 Jumping Exercises for Horse and Rider by Linda Allen but I dont know if its any good or not. Opinions? Other suggestions? Any advice would be great.... :) Thanks!

WildAcreFarms 04-20-2011 01:24 AM

i LOVE:LOVE LOVE that book

I've read it and am working through the exercises. I've done jumping before but was mostly self taught with a few lessons. that book really takes your horse slowly through learning to jump. i think the method is really good and it tells you what to look for and what you and your horse should be learning.
also each lesson builds on something you learned before. it also has excersizes donated by guests of the author. i really liked it and it's a definite part of my horse library. you can get a used copy on amazon for about 8.00

kitten_Val 04-20-2011 08:51 AM

I got this while back: http://www.amazon.com/Jumping-Exercises-Horse-JUMPING-EXERCISES/dp/B001TL1O4K/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1303303819&sr=8-11
While I can't set all of them in arena I use still there are lots and lots of interesting ones I can use.

JerBear 04-20-2011 10:54 AM

Ok thanks! I might purchase it... There was a couple more I saw but has anyone read them?

Jump with Joy
I was also wondering if anyone has tried the Riders Fitness Program book?